Announcing the TEDMED 2016 Editorial Advisory Board

Artificial intelligence. Climate change. Cybersecurity. Addiction. Pandemics. Global drug development. These are some of the cutting-edge topics intersecting with health and medicine that we’ve been exploring as we design the program for TEDMED 2016. With every event, we strive to inspire new thinking, broaden perspectives, and accelerate progress. Central to this mission is our collaboration with the TEDMED 2016 Editorial Advisory Board (EAB) – a group of leading experts in their fields who each embody a wealth of experience and knowledge. Our board members represent worlds spanning health and medicine, foundations and academia, business and technology, philanthropy and design, and journalism and communications. Their diversity ensures that we approach the curation process from a truly multi-disciplinary perspective.

Image courtesy of Shutterstock.
Image courtesy of Shutterstock.

As we design the TEDMED 2016 program, our EAB members are involved from start to finish. They generously offer their time and insights in crafting the event theme and identifying important and timely innovations and nominations for the stage and Hive.

Fortunately, we didn’t have to go too far to find this year’s board members. Drawing upon our wonderful TEDMED community, we gathered 18 remarkable thought leaders – many of whom are former Delegates, speakers, and co-hosts. A number also served on the 2015 EAB, allowing us to tap into their experience while also taking advantage of fresh perspectives from new members. We are both delighted and honored to be announcing them here:

Abraham Verghese, MD, Physician and Author, Professor at Stanford University

Atul Butte, MD, PhD, Director of the Institute of Computational Health Sciences at the University of California, San Francisco

Bijan Salehizadeh, MD, MBA, Managing Director, NaviMed Capital

Carla Pugh, MD, PhD, Surgeon and Director of the Health Clinical Simulation Program at the University of Wisconsin

Charles “Chuck” Pell, Chief Science Officer and Co-Founder at Physcient

Christopher Elias, MD, MPH, President of the Gates Foundation Global Development Program

Daria Mochly-Rosen, PhD, Professor of Chemical and Systems Biology at Stanford University and Founder and Director of Stanford Universitys SPARK program

Hemai Parthsarathy, PhD, Scientific Director of Breakout Labs and the Thiel Foundation

Jeff Karp, PhD, Associate Professor, Brigham and Womens Hospital and Harvard Medical School

John Qualter, Co-founder of BioDigital Systems

Laura Schmidt, PhD, MSW, MPH, Professor of Health Policy in the School of Medicine at the University of California at San Francisco

Michael Painter, MD, JD, Senior Program Officer at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Michael Penn, MD, PhD, Vice President of Diversity, Outreach, and Mentoring at the Gladstone Institutes

Mohit Kaushal, MD, MBA, Partner at Aberdare Ventures

Stacey Chang, Executive Director of the Design Institute for Health, University of Texas at Austin

Pam Belluck, Health and Science Writer, The New York Times

Roberta Ness, MD, MPH, Vice President of Innovation at University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Sandeep “Sunny” Kishore, MD, PhD, Post-doctoral Fellow of the Human Nature Lab at Yale University